CEC Communities

Moore County, NC certified in 2022.  Read about Moore County’s certification project here. 

Holly Springs, NC, certified in 2017. Read about Holly Springs certification process here. 

Amherst County, VA certified in 2017. Read about Amherst County becoming the first certified community in Virginia. 

Cleveland County, NC  certified in 2017. Read about Cleveland County’s collaborative certification journey here. 

Below are the communities that were certified under the previous CEC® program administered by AdvantageWest, a former regional economic development organization in western North Carolina. The communities have all had success fostering entrepreneurs. We offer a few examples from each community.

  • Black Mountain
  • Burke County
  • Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians
  • Haywood County
  • Macon County
  • Mitchell County
  • Polk County
  • Transylvania County
  • Watauga County
  • Yancey County